avathar SJIS Bot

Depth of Knowledge Assessment (DOKA)

One of the endlessly alluring aspects of mathematics is that its thorniest paradoxes have a way of blooming into beautiful theories.” —Philip J Davis

Depth of Knowledge Assessment (DOKA)* is the latest annual mathematical problem-solving assessment organized by SMO Education Group and Academy TeamMathics, co-organized by SIMCC and supported by International Scholastic Trust. It is designed based on Depth of Knowledge in Problem Solving in developing students’ Higher Order Thinking Skills (HOTS) and to sharpen reasoning skills in students.

A total of 25 St John’s International School students from year 7 to year 11 have participated in DOKA on 14th May 2019. They were tested on Reasoning skills, one of the most important elements in HOTS. It comprises into four parts; Basic Reasoning- to apply information or conceptual knowledge, Intermediate Reasoning (Non-Verbal)- to understand and analyse visual information, Advanced Reasoning-to apply creative thinking for strategic planning on a sequence of multi steps and Extended Reasoning- to interpret complex information in order to find the hidden data/pattern.

Tops scorers will receive High Distinction (8%), Distinction (next 12%), High Credit (next 20%) and Credit (20%) Award certificates. All other participants will receive a Certificate of Participation.

Depth Of Knowledge Assessment Doka

All HD, D and HC Award recipients in DOKA 2019 are eligible for selection to take part in the International Junior Math Olympiad (IJMO) in Kuala Lumpur, Asia International Mathematical Olympiad (AIMO) in Taiwan, Hong Kong International Mathematical Olympiad (HKIMO) in Hong Kong and Singapore Math Global Team Competition (SINGA) in Vietnam with participants from other countries.
The official result was released on thr 4th of June 2019.

Depth Of Knowledge Assessment Doka 2

We are proud to list our students’ achievements as below:

High Distinction
Phua Yufan – Year 7
Wayan Wong – Year 10
Brandon Tan – Year 11
Ewan Koay – Year 11
Tan Jia Jun – Year 11

Cheah Choon Sam -Year 9
Hwang Chaeun – Year 10

High Credit
Abigail Peter – Year 7
Lau Hanson – Year 7
Lau Yi Xuan -Year 8
Ethan Sheng – Year 9
Yoon Da Yeong – Year 10
Kim Keun Yeop -Year 11
Kuan Jun Han -Year 11

Certificate of Participation
Mahi Singhvi – Year 7
Reenu Sri – Year 7
Wong Gau Jet – Year 8
Lim Xin Thong – Year 8
Kam Kai Li – Year 8
Kim Keun Yong -Year 8
Lee Zhi Xian – Year 9
Akash Woon Chan – Year 9
Mok Pui Yeng – Year 9
Chew Hao Shern -Year 10
Tan Zhi Ching – Year 10